Creep Show Air New Single/Video “Moneyback”

Creep Show Air New Single/Video "Moneyback"
Photo by Chris Bethell

UK electronic/experimental band Creep Show have aired the video for their new single “Moneyback”, taken from their upcoming album Yawning Abyss‘, due out June 16 via Bella Union.

Creep Show’s Stephen Mallinder and Peter Care first worked together in the early ‘80s when Care directed a number of videos for Cabaret Voltaire, most notably ‘Sensoria’ (1984), which became the most requested independent music video on MTV. Care subsequently went on to direct music videos for a whole host of artists, including Depeche Mode, R.E.M. and Bruce Springsteen. In 2005, he received a Lifetime Achievement Award for his videos from the Music Video Production Association.

Commenting on the video, Peter Care says: “The idea was to shoot in a way that could not be done on a digital camera or a bunch of filters on a smart phone. Hence the blurry long exposures, scratches, flashes etc using a clockwork camera. I knew the result would match the energy of the track.”

Of the track John Grant says: “Moneyback follows the travails and vicissitudes of a naive young woman from the suburbs who runs afoul of a grifter named Rusty Boygans in the big city and the hijinks which ensue.”

Watch the video below and pre-order the album, Yawning Abyss, here.

Creep Show “Moneyback”

Yawning Abyss Tracklist:

  1. The Bellows
  2. Moneyback
  3. Yawning Abyss
  4. Matinee
  5. Wise
  6. Yahtzee!
  7. Bungalow
  8. Steak Diane
  9. The Bellows Reprise

Creep Show are John Grant, Stephen Mallinder, Benge and Phil Winter.