Crows Announce New Album ‘Reason Enough’, Stream “Bored”

Crows Announce New Album 'Reason Enough', Stream "Bored"

London post-punk/psych band Crows have announced the release of their third studio album ‘Reason Enough‘.

Along with the announcement they have also shared a new single and video, “Bored“. The follow-up to their 2022 album ‘Beware Believers‘, will be out on 27th September via Bad Vibrations Records. Pre-order your copy here.

“Reason Enough” is the one that took the band the longest to write, partly because they had to fit the exercise around working full-time jobs, but also because of the freedom that was afforded to them around this specific project, which takes the post-punk quartet’s historically adrenaline-fueled sound into fresh territory.

For the occasion, James Cox (vocals), Steve Goddard (guitar), Jith Amarasinghe (bass), and Sam Lister (drums) used a former Catholic church and convent in Stroud, Gloucestershire. They parked themselves up in a church’s crypt, and armed with dozens of ideas, they returned to London to finesse them all. The result: a concise, 10-track album which goes a long way to show Crows’ sonic versatility.

Having a more relaxed approach this time around meant we could explore different stuff,” Goddard says. “We don’t want to sound the same as we did before – this is our third album, we have to move on. And so we fucked around a bit more.”

On Reason Enough, the band’s punk spirit remains intact. Sonically, though, they’re more refined and cohesive than ever. It’s the most mature Crows have ever sounded – it’s more melodic work than what they’ve previously done. The band worked with Mercury Prize-winning producer Andy Savours, who’s previously collaborated with the likes of Black Country, New Road and My Bloody Valentine, on the project.

Singer James Cox says on the new track: 

“Like so many musicians today, being off album cycle means no touring, which in turn means looking for more day-to-day work options to make ends meet. We wrote ‘Reason Enough’ in a period like this when we were all simultaneously working day jobs to pay the bills. And when we’re not touring, I become way more aware of, and susceptible to, the news cycle. Being bombarded by constant doom and gloom can create a real despondent maelstrom. With what seemed like no hope for respite, or any change to my routine whatsoever, the song ‘Bored’ came out of that cycle of waking up and not being able to shake the feeling of wanting to bang your forehead against a brick wall.”

The video directed by Manoela Chiabai (Depeche Mode, IDLES, Future Islands) gives a big nod to Jim Jarmusch’s Paterson, to B movies of the likes of John Carpenter, to Camberwell and Freud’s The Uncanny.

Check out “Bored” below ,followed by the album’s artwork and tracklist.

Crows “Reason Enough” Tracklist:
  1. Reason Enough
  2. Bored
  3. Is It Better
  4. Vision Of Me
  5. Land Of The Rose
  6. Every Day Of The Year
  7. Lie To Me
  8. Living On My Knees
  9. Silhouettes
  10. D-Gent