Empire Of The Sun Announce New Album ‘Ask That God’

Empire Of The Sun Announce New Album 'Ask That God'

Australia electro-glam-pop / synth duo Empire of the Sun have announced the release of their fourth studio album “Ask That God“, their first in eight years.

To coincide with the announcement, they have also shared the new single “Music On The Radio” as well as its accompanying video. The record will be out on July 26th via Capitol. Pre-order your copy here.

Of the album, Lord Nick Littlemore said: “It has been a journey unlike any other that Empire Of The Sun has undertaken. We always ‘go there’ when it comes to exploration of both the self and the outside worldThis body of work represents the greatest shift in consciousness our world has ever seen and that’s reflected in the music.”

We always draw our inspiration from the world that has drawn us. Be it a leaf or a mountain, an argument or an exhibition, a distant sound or a micro sleep. Empire has always been inspired and continues to find inspiration in all that is present around us.” He added.

Emperor Luke Steele said: 

“‘Ask That God’ is an album we searched for and were thankfully blessed with. We are nothing more than conduits, gathering experience and finding what is meant for the Empire to find.”

On the new single, Steele continued: “To me, this song is like a teenager rebelling against his imaginary emotions. It’s penned in only that unique way Lord Littlemore can bring words to life. The bass wraps its arms around you in some kind of hypnotic groove and you’re powerless to its charms.”

Watch the Michael Maxxis-directed video below.

Empire Of The Sun “Ask That God” Tracklist:

  1. Changes
  2. Cherry Blossom
  3. Music on the Radio
  4. The Feeling You Get
  5. AEIOU [ft. Pnau]
  6. Television
  7. Happy Like You
  8. Revolve
  9. Wild World
  10. Ask That God
  11. Rhapsodize
  12. Friends I Know

Photo Credit: William Barrington-Binns