GIFT Announce New LP ‘Illuminator’, Share “Going In Circles”

GIFT Announce New LP 'Illuminator', Share "Going In Circles"

New York City neo-psychedelia / shoegaze five-piece GIFT have announced the release of their highly-anticipated second album ‘Illuminator‘.

Today, they’ve shared a new preview of the album in the form of “Going In Circles”. The 11-track record will be out August 23rd on Captured Tracks. Pre-order your copy here.

According to the press release, Illuminator is the long-awaited payoff of GIFT’s ever-growing musical and human chemistry. And while nods are apparent to label forerunners such as Beach Fossils, DIIV and Wild Nothing, GIFT are shepherding those elements into wondrous new vessels for the present moment–sleek, often danceable and frequently mesmerizing.

Throughout, Freda and company thankfully do much of the hard work for us: falling in love, heartbreak. Watching events and moments go by like cars on the highway. People you once knew coming in and out. Grieving the loss of different phases. Watching everything happen simultaneously. For these and many other reasons, Illuminator, friends, will be the soundtrack to the through line of your life.

Of the new single, vocalist/guitarist TJ Freda says:

This was the first song I wrote for Illuminator that helped me realize the direction of the album. The song is about the endless cycle of a relationship, the back and forth in both euphoria and doubt. The chorus “I never told you why’ is about never being able to say how you really feel, not having closure and the cycle continuing.”

Check out “Going In Circles” below, followed by the album’s artwork and tracklist.

GIFT ‘Illuminator’ Tracklist:
  1. Wish Me Away
  2. Light Runner
  3. To The Stars And Back
  4. Going I n Circles
  5. It’s All Too Fast
  6. Falling Down
  7. Destination Illumination
  8. Later
  9. Glow
  10. Water In My Lungs
  11. Milestones

Photo credit: Dana Trippe