Ladytron Announce New LP “Time’s Arrow”, Stream “City of Angels”

Ladytron Announce New LP "Time's Arrow", Stream "City of Angels"
Ladytron “Time’s Arrow”

Liverpool electro-pop band Ladytron have announced the release of their seventh studio album “Time’s Arrow“. 

The follow-up to 2019’s eponymous album Ladytron, will be out on January 20, 2023 via Cooking Vinyl, with a UK tour to follow in March. Pre-order your copy here.

Speaking on the album, Ladytron state:

“This record has been a long time coming. We started recording new music in February 2020 at Mogwai’s Castle of Doom studio in Glasgow, and after working across oceans, from Scotland to Brazil to London to California, we eventually reconvened in Liverpool to complete it early this year.”

Here, the Liverpudlian quartet play it with a very straight bat, not deviating from their established template of icy, electronic anthems touching upon elements of shoegaze, industrial and indie-pop – fortunately, it’s as reliably thrilling and impressive as everything else in their catalogue.

“When I was writing lyrics I was drawn to the idea of dreaming,” vocalist Helen Marnie said in a press release. “You’re surrounded by this bizarre world and I didn’t want to think about it. The themes here aren’t necessarily joyful or happy. They can be really quite dark – but we wanted to present it in a dreamlike, even uplifting fashion.”

Lead single “City of Angels”, inverts sensuous imagery into a vision of a near future collapse of cultural memory. Ladytron’s Daniel Hunt says is “about forgetting… not about one particular place or other, but a merging of them.”

Listen to “City of Angels” and check out the album’s artwork and tracklist, below.

Time's Arrow Tracklisting

Time’s Arrow Tracklisting:

  1. City Of Angels
  2. Faces
  3. Misery Remember Me
  4. Flight From Angkor
  5. We Never Went Away
  6. The Night
  7. The Dreamers
  8. Sargasso Sea
  9. California
  10. Time’s Arrow
Ladytron March 2023 UK Dates

10 – Glasgow, SWG3
11 – Liverpool, Camp & Furnace
12 – London, Koko