RIP Dunes Shares New Single/Video “Cruel Nature”

RIP Dunes Shares New Single/Video "Cruel Nature"

New York indie / new wave / post punk project RIP Dunes (aka Caveman’s Matthew Iwasuna) has shared his new single “Cruel Nature“, alongside a music video.

The track is taken from his self-titled debut album, out today, March 1st. Get your copy here.

Music-making and New York living have always been the fabric of Iwanusa’s life. His father’s a jazz composer, his mother a longtime music teacher in the New York City public school system. He got his first Mickey Mouse drum set at the age of three, and started singing in the Metropolitan Opera’s Children’s Chorus at the age of six. So it wasn’t long before he started writing songs of his own. After a series of bands, things kicked into a new gear when he formed Caveman in 2010 with a few old friends. The band toured the world alongside artists like The War on Drugs, Weezer, Jeff Tweedy, Built to Spill, Ra Ra Riot, Frightened Rabbit, and Phosphorescent. 

The 11-track debut record paints a lush sonic landscape, featuring effortless melodies and senses of euphoria, accompanied by pangs foreboding mystery and darkness. Iwanusa cites Echo and the Bunnymen, The Church, and The Cure as influences for his new endeavor.

The music video for “Cruel Nature”, is a disorienting and illusory journey through the dark streets of NYC that mirrors the song’s seductive after hours vibe.

Watch / listen below.

 RIP Dunes “Cruel Nature”

Upcoming Tour Dates

06 – New York, NY @ New Colossus Festival
11-16 – Austin, TX @ SXSW
20 – Boise, ID @ Treefort Music Festival

RIP Dunes Tracklist

  1. Backwards
  2. In Real Life
  3. No Other Lies
  4. Cruel Nature
  5. I Dare
  6. Don’t Tell Me It’s Over
  7. Dark Memories
  8. Now I’m Older
  9. Is It Real?
  10. Part Of Me
  11. To Leave

Photo Credit: James Christopher Egan III