Shed Seven Announce New LP ‘A Matter of Time’, Air “Kissing California”

Shed Seven Announce New LP 'A Matter of Time', Air "Kissing California"

UK britpop legends Shed Seven have announced the release of their new studio album ‘A Matter of Time‘ and have shared the record’s lead single “Kissing California“.

The follow-up to 2017’s Instant Pleasures, produced by the Grammy Award-winning Youth (The Verve, Pink Floyd) at El Mirador Studios in Andalucia, Spain, will be out on January 12, 2024 via Cooking Vinyl. Pre-order your copy here.

According to the press release, ‘A Matter of Time’ sees Shed Seven look back to their roots, drawing inspiration from the records and sounds that ignited their passion for songwriting over 35 years ago. Delivered with a renewed and youthful enthusiasm they have created without a doubt some of the very best songs of their career.

Guitarist Paul Banks says: 

“For this album, we took a nostalgic journey back to our roots, immersing ourselves in the records and sounds that ignited our passion for songwriting at the tender age of 12. The influences of bands like The Smiths, R.E.M., U2, Simple Minds, The Cure, and Duran Duran permeate every note, making it a heartfelt homage to those cherished times. It embodies the essence of rebirth, empowering individuals to embrace their true selves without inhibition. With utmost conviction, we declare this as the pinnacle of our musical endeavours – the record we’ve always yearned to create.”

Of the new single, vocalist Rick Witter adds: “‘Kissing California’ is Shed Seven’s summer anthem. It’s essentially a celebration of being alive, and grabbing the opportunity to paint the town red with someone special and have the best of times. It’s the medicine we all need sometimes.”

Check out the album’s artwork/tracklist and stream “Kissing California” below.

Shed Seven ‘A Matter of Time’ Tracklist:

  1. Let’s Go
  2. Kissing California
  3. Talk of the Town
  4. Let’s Go Dancing
  5. In Ecstasy (ft. Rowetta)
  6. Tripping With You (ft. Laura McClure)
  7. Let’s Go (Again)
  8. Real Love
  9. F:K:H
  10. Starlings
  11. Ring the Changes
  12. Throwaways (ft. Peter Doherty)

The record features Libertines and Babyshambles rocker Pete Doherty on ‘Throwaways’, Rowetta is on ‘In Ecstasy’, and Laura McClure of Reverend and The Makers on ‘Tripping With You’.

The band have also announced a 2023 autumn tour.

Shed Seven Tour Dates

19th – Cardiff, The Tramshed
20th – London, O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
21st – Nottingham, Rock City
23rd – Stoke-on-Trent, Victoria Hall
24th – Wolverhampton, Wulfrun Hall
26th – Glasgow, The Barrowland Ballroom
27th – Middlesbrough, Town Hall
28th – Manchester, Albert Hall