Sleaford Mods Reveal New Single/Video “Big Pharma”

Sleaford Mods Reveal New Single/Video "Big Pharma"

Nottingham post punk/alt duo Sleaford Mods (aka Jason Williamson and Andrew Fearn) have revealed their new single “Big Pharma” alongside a video.

The track features on their upcoming EP ‘More UK GRIM’, set to arrive on 20 October via Rough Trade Records. Pre-order it here.

Emerging from the same environment that created the duo’s Top 3 album UK GRIM, the songs of More UK GRIM share the incisive lyrical vision and forward-thinking electronics that won acclaim for the LP. Tracks including Under The Rules, Old Nottz and Big Pharma not only continue Mods’ era of dancefloor dominance, but with insight and wit, outrage and compassion, they critique yet celebrate our turbulent times.

Speaking about it, Williamson says:

“‘Big Pharma’ was written in the opening chapters of autumn 2022 when Covid kicked in again. It carries a lot of the normal Sleaford Mods absurdism but also looks at the ongoing fascination with trying to find truths in information wholly pushed by very questionable people.”

The term ‘Big Pharma’ has been uprooted from its original place and is now more familiar as a term used by right wing and industrial groups trying to mask the financial aims of their arguments with some kind of critical thinking, panache-type legitimacy. It feeds on hopelessness, widespread fear and generations of unfettered misinformation linked to the limited critical perception we as the masses are burdened with.

Recently Big Pharma has been adopted by the anti trans movement, and you can see that high performance bigotry and personal financial interest are never too far away. Much like the next version of the latest smart phone, the features are largely the same.” He added.

Watch the Sean Sears (AKA Prawnimation)-directed video below.

Sleaford Mods “Big Pharma”

More UK GRIM Tracklist:

  1. Under The Rules
  2. Old Nottz
  3. Big Pharma
  4. PO Crazeh
  5. My 18hr Girdle
  6. Old Notts (Alt Mix)