The Drums Release New Single “The Flowers”

The Drums Release New Single "The Flowers"
The Drums “The Flowers”

New York-based indie pop/alt band The Drums (led by Jonny Pierce) have released their new single “The Flowers“.

The song features on their upcoming new album simply ‘Jonny‘, set to arrive on October 13 via Anti Records. Pre-order your copy here.

The 16-track album beautifully chronicles Pierce’s journey confronting the deep-rooted childhood trauma he experienced growing up in a cult-like religious community in upstate New York, and ultimately coming through the other side to a place of newfound self-understanding and self-love.

Always finding the balance between aching melancholy and irresistible pop sensibilities, the album finds Pierce peering through a kaleidoscope of shimmering guitars, reverb, modular synthesizers and drum machines: a sonic identity that has been uniquely, and wholly The Drums since their emergence 15 years ago. 

On “The Flowers,” Jonny sees how the truest love is found in small moments of tenderness. Pierce clarifies:

“With “The Flowers” I explain how slowing down and being tender saved my life and how it became the key to loving myself, building confidence in myself, and being able to love another in a meaningful way. To love from a place that isn’t desperate, but from a place that is centered, calm, and gentle and sweet.”

Tune in below.

In addition to “The Flowers”, Jonny features the recent string of tracks including “Better,” “Obvious”, “I Want It All”, “Isolette” and “Plastic Envelope / Protect Him Always, all of which have become instant fan favorites on The Drums’ recent sold-out headline tour across North America. 

The Drums ‘Jonny’ Tracklist:

  1. I Want It All
  2. Isolette
  3. I’m Still Scared
  4. Better
  5. Harms
  6. Little Jonny
  7. Plastic Envelope
  8. Protect Him Always
  9. Be Gentle
  10. Dying
  11. Green Grass
  12. Obvious
  13. The Flowers
  14. Teach My Body
  15. Pool God
  16. I Used to Want To Die

Photo credit: Qiao Meng