The Rolling Stones Announce New LP ‘Hackney Diamonds’, Stream “Angry”

The Rolling Stones Announce New LP 'Hackney Diamonds', Stream "Angry"

British veteran rockers The Rolling Stones have announced the release of their new studio album ‘Hackney Diamonds‘, their first in 18 years.

Set to arrive on October 20th, The 12-track record features guest appearances from the likes of Lady Gaga, Paul McCartney and Stevie Wonder. Pre-order your copy here.

Produced by Andrew Watt (Iggy Pop, Elton John, Post Malone), Hackney Diamonds marks The Rolling Stones’ first album of new material since 2005’s A Bigger Bang and their first with late drummer Charlie Watts, who appears on two tracks. Jagger explained: “The album has 12 tracks. Most are with Steve, but two are tracks we recorded in 2019 with Charlie.”

The title is a slang term for shattered glass, as Jagger explained is slang for “getting your car windscreen broken in Hackney on a Saturday night”.

Jagger said that the sound of the album was “angry”, like the title of the lead single, but it has also an “eclectic” mixture of genres, including love songs and ballads.

Angry,” comes with an accompanying video directed by Francois Rousselet and starring actress Sydney Sweeney (EuphoriaThe White Lotus).

Check out “Angry” below, followed by the album’s tracklist and cover art.

Hackney Diamonds Tracklist:

  1. Angry
  2. Get Close
  3. Depending on You
  4. Bite My Head Off
  5. Whole Wide World
  6. Dreamy Skies
  7. Mess It Up
  8. Live By the Sword
  9. Driving Me Too Hard
  10. Tell Me Straight
  11. Sweet Sound of Heaven
  12. Rolling Stones Blue

Photo credit: Mark Seliger