Album of the Week: The Empty Threats ‘Monster Truck Mondays’

Album of the Week: The Empty Threats 'Monster Truck Mondays'
Album of the Week: The Empty Threats ‘Monster Truck Mondays’

Aussie post punk/indie rock/alt band The Empty Threats have released their debut full-length ‘Monster Truck Mondays‘ and is our new Album of the Week.

Launched in 2017, The Empty Threats (lovingly referred to by fans as ‘Empties’), is the project of Stu Patterson, Matt Schultz, Venus, Lenny Regione and Michael Bond. Since the release of their debut single in 2018, the group have drummed up a reputation for their politically-charged anthems adjacent to the post-punk of shame and Tropical F*ck Storm, melded with ‘80s Australiana.

Their 10-track debut, produced and recorded by Matt Schultz & Stu Patterson, sees the band lean further into social advocacy, exploring themes of anxiety, existential dread, capitalism, LGBTQIA+ rights and colonialism over snarling bass, frenzied guitar work, restless percussion and electric clarinet.

Blending modern post-punk with ‘80s Australiana, and renowned for their energetic live performances, The Empty Threats have shared stages with Methel Ethyl, Mildlife, Teen Jesus & the Jean Teasers, Jimmy Barnes and ICEHOUSE, plus scored slots at festivals including Mountain Goat Valley Crawl and WOMADelaide. 

Favourite tracks: ATACB, New Jet Ski, Two Years, Jason’s Bad Trip, Evil Eye, Sunday Night…

Monster Truck Mondays‘ is out now via P.A.K. Records. Grab your copy here, and stream it below.

‘Monster Truck Mondays’ Tracklist:

  1. ATACB
  2. Boys in the Gutter
  3. New Jet Ski
  4. Two Years
  5. Monster Truck Mondays
  6. Dear Sunshine
  7. National Treasure
  8. Jason’s Bad Trip
  9. Evil Eye
  10. Sunday Night