Surf Friends Drop “Times What We Want” Music Video

Surf Friends Drop "Times What We Want" Music Video

Auckland jangle pop/surf rock duo Surf Friends (made up of Brad Coley and Peter Westmoreland) have dropped the video for their latest single “Times What We Want“.

The “euphoric, dream-psych track” features on their recent album ‘Sonic Waves‘, released in March via Flying Nun Records. Grab your copy here if you haven’t already.

The video, filmed and edited by Mark Howden, features footage from the album release show at The Thirsty Dog, Tāmaki Makaurau/Auckland.

Take a listen below.

The sea, the sand, reverberating guitars, bass, synth keyboard and looped samples, Surf Friends have it all. The two-piece of Brad (guitar, vocals, keys, drum machine) and Pete (bass, keys, vocals) formed in 2009.

Drawing inspirations from the jangle-pop of early Flying Nun bands such as The Clean, Surf Friends defined their distinct psych-surf and post-punk sound, using driving guitars, drum machines and synths loops to create a visceral, solar-powered wash of sound.

Over their almost fourteen-year career, they have performed and collaborated with the likes of Hamish and David Kilgour (The Clean), Nick Roughan (The Skeptics), The Black Watch and Snapper and have performed at festivals such as The Others Way, Psych Fest and Field Of Dreams. 

Sonic Waves Tracklist:

  1. Whirling Hiss
  2. Dreaming
  3. Good Thing
  4. Signal On
  5. Something Real
  6. Woohoo
  7. Times What We Want
  8. Play Your Show
  9. For Today
  10. Sonic