Bacchae Unveil New Single/Video “Just a Rat”

Bacchae Unveil New Single/Video "Just a Rat"

Washington, D.C. punk/post punk/synth punk band Bacchae have unveiled their new single “Just a Rat” and its accompanying video.

The track features on their upcoming new album ‘Next Time‘, set to arrive on July 5 via Get Better Records. Pre-order it here.

Formed in 2016 by four friends: Katie McD (Vocals, Keys), Rena Hagins (Bass, Vocals), Eileen O’Grady (Drums), and Andrew Breiner (Guitar), with minimal experience as musicians, Bacchae make music with no assumptions about what a punk band should sound like. Underneath a careful balance of attitude and ambivalence, the quartet embraces heavy guitar riffs alongside bouncy pop melodies and rage-filled exclamations.

Of the new album, they shared:

Next Time is a lament. Almost every song on the album is about mourning or regretting something that has been lost: work-life balance, a lover, a way of life, your motivation, your mental health, a sense of self. The displeasure of work and the disappointment of the daily grind are topics revisited throughout the album. Musically, these songs draw from many punk, post-punk and eclectic influences.” 

Watch the video below.

Bacchae “Just a Rat”

Next Time Tracklist:

  1. Try
  2. Cooler Talk
  3. Next Time
  4. Just a Rat
  5. Drop Dead Gorgeous
  6. New Jersey
  7. Dead Man
  8. Feeling The Same
  9. Evening Drive
  10. Wicked Fountain

Photo credit: Chris Zikich