Dragnet Announce New Album ‘The Accession’, Stream “Strike”

Dragnet Announce New Album 'The Accession', Stream "Strike"
Photo by James Devlin

Aussie punk/post punk band Dragnet have announced the release of their new studio album ‘The Accession‘.

The 11-track record will be out on May 12 via Spoilsport Records (AU/ROW) and Polaks Records (EU). Pre-order your copy here.

Dragnet had its humble beginnings in 2019, united under the premise of recording a tape in one day and leaving it as that. Now, with the addition of Tom Woodruff (Checkpoint, Gonzo) and Alicia Nolan (Gutter Girls), the band feels whole – firm, well founded, well grounded. It takes form in twin riffs and synth lines. It’s the progression from a family of four to six with a lot of food being brought to the table. They wouldn’t have it any other way.

Like usual, frontman Jack Cherry’s wit knows no bounds, leading the charge as he bursts forth from a heavily cemented rhythm section. Guitars sharp as swords call and answer, the keys fire shots, and bass and drums keep the wheels turning.

The band have also shared the album’s lead single “Strike“, and its accompanying video. Watch it now.

Dragnet ‘The Accession’ artwork and tracklist:

The Accession Tracklist:

  1. Dragnet II
  2. M-99
  3. Strike
  4. Birdman
  5. Lighten the Load
  6. Interlude
  7. Purple Agitator
  8. Maths Test
  9. Sabor Attacks
  10. Faces Around
  11. New Idea

Dragnet are: Jack Cherry, Dane Brunt, Tom Woodruff, Alicia Nolan, Daniel Oke and Meaghan Weiley.