Get Wrong Unveil Debut Single “It’s So Easy”

Get Wrong Unveil Debut Single "It's So Easy"

Glasgow indie pop/synthpop outfit Get Wrong, the new project of Naomi Griffin of Martha and Adam Todd of The Spook School, have unveiled their new single “It’s So Easy“.

The track is taken from their debut self-titled EP, produced, recorded, and mixed by Peter Brewis and mastered by David Brewis (both from Field Music), due to be released on December 1 through Alcopop + Father/Daughter Records. Pre-order it here.

Get Wrong is a somewhat long-distance collaboration, with Naomi based in Durham, England and Adam based in Glasgow, Scotland. With a shared background in the UK indie pop/punk scene, the two friends decided to embrace their love of pop music and create songs outside their usual comfort zone of chugging guitars and squealing feedback. The resulting output draws inspiration from 80s synth-pop as well as current pop megastars, with an approach that embraces fun, cuteness, intimacy and dream-like nostalgia.

Taken from the North-East English colloquialism for getting into trouble, the band name Get Wrong serves as a mission statement to encourage child-like naivety while questioning the status quo.

Commenting on the track, Adam explains:

“I wanted to explore the joy you can get from the mundane when you’re in the company of people that you love. It’s not necessarily about romantic love, but close friendships of the kind where you don’t need to try at all. You can just exist in each other’s company. I think playing in a band and touring gives quite a unique opportunity to experience these kinds of moments in adult life. Spending literally all of your waking hours in the company of your closest friends.”⁠

Watch a lyric video below.

Get Wtong Tracklist:

  1. It’s So Easy
  2. Too Late To Hide
  3. Purple
  4. Something To Tell You
  5. Crying My Eyes Out