Local Authority Unveil New Single “Disconnect”

Local Authority Unveil New Single "Disconnect"

Brisbane indie rock / neo-psychedelia / shoegaze band Local Authority have unveiled their new single “Disconnect” and its accompanying video.

The song serves as the second single of their upcoming album ‘Memory Loss’, due to be released on July 26 via Kitty Records, they have previously shared “Hang The World”. Pre-order it here.

Local Authority are Jacque McGill – guitars / vocals, Erica Sunnex – bass / vocals, Talia Bond – drums / percussion, and Kailan O’Dell – synthesizers. In a music scene that is consistently growing and evolving in Brisbane, they have cemented themselves as stand outs for years now.

Whilst a refreshing approach to modern shoegaze, their live shows reign true to the more traditional tropes of loud, exploding amps, driving bass, and heavy, yet tucked away drums, similar to bands such as The Cure, my bloody valentine, and Slowdive. The album was recorded and mixed by Chris Brownbill between August and September 2023 at Underground Audio, Nundah.

Watch the video for “Disconnect” now.

Local Authority “Disconnect”

Memory Loss Tracklist:

  1. Nothing
  2. Hang The World
  3. Disconnect
  4. Falling
  5. Replaced
  6. Burn
  7. Torn
  8. Wonder

Local Authority Upcoming Live Dates

August 17 – Echo Bravo Festival 2024 – The Bergy Bandroom (Brunswick, VIC, Australia)

Photo by Riff Chan