NewDad Announce Debut Album ‘MADRA’, Stream “Angel”

NewDad Announce Debut Album 'MADRA', Stream "Angel"

Irish indie/post-rock/lo-fi band NewDad have announced the release of their highly-anticipated debut album ‘MADRA‘.

Set for release on 26 January 2023 through Fair Youth/Atlantic, the 11-track record was produced by NewDad’s long-time collaborator Chris W Ryan (Just Mustard) and mixed by Alan Moulder (The Smashing Pumpkins, Nine Inch Nails, Wet Leg). Pre-order your copy here.

An album characterised by intoxicating, festival-ready melodies spanning dream-pop, post-punk and shoegaze, MADRA openly examines singer/guitarist Julie Dawson predilection for shame, guilt and self-sabotage – and how that ultimately impacts the people surrounding her. 

Speaking about it, Dawson says: “Madra (meaning dog in Irish) explores various difficult parts of the human condition and the idea of the title is that these feelings that come up are sometimes ones you can’t escape – feelings that follow you around like a dog. We had an amazing team around us who helped bring these songs to life and we’re so excited for this album to be out in the world. We hope that people connect with the songs and that Madra can be a comfort to everyone who listens.”

New single ‘Angel’, finds inspiration in TV show Euphoria, as Dawson ruminates on the destructive relationship of characters, Rue and Jules: a storyline that she herself gravitated towards.

Check out “Angel” below, followed by the album’s artwork and tracklist.

NewDad ‘Madra’ Tracklisting:

  1. Angel
  2. Sickly Sweet
  3. Where I Go
  4. Change My Mind
  5. In My Head
  6. Nosebleed
  7. Let Go
  8. Dream Of Me
  9. Nightmares
  10. White Ribbons
  11. Madra
NewDad 2024 Live Shows

24 Leeds Belgrave Music Hall
25 Manchester Band On The Wall
26 Glasgow St Luke’s
28 Dublin Button Factory

2 Birmingham O2 Institute
3 Bristol Trinity
5 London Koko