Seriously Drop New Single/Video “Darkroom”

Seriously Drop New Single/Video "Darkroom"

Birmingham, AL post punk/new wave band Seriously have dropped the video for their new single “Darkroom“.

The track features on their forthcoming album ‘Built Environment‘, set to arrive on June 16 via Earth Libraries. Pre-order it here.

For decades, the concept of the American Dream has felt like an immutable entity that burst into existence fully formed. But even those concepts that get hammered into society until they become inescapable cliches were constructed from a distinct sociopolitical perspective–a breakdown in the system that post-punk outfit Seriously pick at on their latest, Built Environment, due February 2023 via Earth Libraries. “There are inherent inequities woven into the American Dream, in the ways it was designed, how it was sold to us,” insists bassist/vocalist Chayse Porter. “We want to pull back the curtain on the complacency, vanity, and follies of rugged individualism that sprawl through the suburbs.”

The trio of Porter, Jonathan Crain (guitar/vocals), and Michael Harp (synth/guitar) set that anxious eye immediately at their target with the album’s paranoiac opening track, “Dark Room”. Here and throughout the album, Porter’s bass rains down like chunks of cement onto icy waves of guitar and drum machine, dark new wave harmonies emerging from the mix.

Watch/listen below.

Built Environment Tracklist:

  1. Darkroom
  2. With Delight
  3. Monument
  4. No Salvation
  5. The Architect
  6. What If The Dream Comes True
  7. Built Environment
  8. Under The Boot of God