Soft Science Announce New Album ‘Lines’, Share “Sadness”

Soft Science Announce New Album 'Lines', Share "Sadness"

California dream-gaze band Soft Science have announced the release of their much-anticipated new album ‘Lines‘ and have also shared the record’s lead single “Sadness“.

Produced by band members Tony Cale and Ross Levine, the follow-up to 2018’s Maps, will hit the stores on September 8 via Shelflife Records (US) /Spinout Nuggets (UK)/Fastcut Records (JP). Pre-order your copy here.

Soft Science began working on their recently completed album Lines in 2019, forging the record in their home studios together and at times in isolation from each other during the height of the pandemic, swapping tracks and making adjustments from a distance for what felt like an eternity. Reuniting in person to finalize the mix created a palpable excitement, an energy that can be felt throughout the record. Lines addresses living and loving within the complexities and challenges of everyday life in our fast-paced digital world.

Of the new single, guitarist/keyboardist Ross Levine stated:

“When writing the lyrics to ‘Sadness’, I was thinking of it as a kind of pep talk – everyone struggles and it can be easy to fall into a negative loop, something I’m really good at. When one is feeling down, that emotion can cloud everything; it’s about coming to that realization and trying to refocus on the positive: sometimes the glass is actually half full. However, it’s not meant to be judgmental. It’s just a reflection on the concept that sadness exists – it’s part of the human experience – but also to not beat yourself up for having those feelings and to remind yourself if you look for it, happiness can also be found.”

Check out the album’s tracklist and is listen to “Sadness” below.

Soft Science ‘Lines’ Tracklist:

  1. Low
  2. Grip
  3. Deceiver
  4. Sadness
  5. Kerosene
  6. Stuck
  7. Hands
  8. Zeros
  9. True
  10. Polar

Soft Science, from Sacramento, California, creates a unique form of dream pop music, inspired by 90s shoegaze and 60s brit pop. The group is comprised of KatMade up of Katie Haley (vocals), Ross Levine (guitar/synths/backing vocals), Matt Levine (guitar), Tony Cale (drums/ percussion), Becky Cale (bass/backing vocals), and Hans Munz (electronics), they have managed to create their own sweet blend of modern pop music with a sonic edge.