Transmission Suite Premiere New Single/Video “Lying Awake”

Transmission Suite Premiere New Single "Lying Awake"

Stirling, Scotland indie/britpop/electronic band Transmission Suite have premiered their new single “Lying Awake“, alongside an accompanying video.

The track is out now and follows previously released singles “Electric Town“, “Part of the Problem” and “Fade Away”. Grab it here.

UPDATE 11/20/2023: “Lying Awake” is our new Single of the Week!

Speaking about it, the band told CoolTop20:

The track was written towards the back end of 2022. It started with the synth arpeggio that opens the track and we just built it up from there through the process of jamming. Having the drum machine allows us to put things together really quickly and we then develop these ideas over time until we have something close to the final product going into recording sessions.”

It’s funny how things can change, because during the earlier versions of the track, we never really saw it as a single. But, as we tweaked it over time and then started playing it live, we found it became a bit of a favourite. That’s also the beauty of playing live – you learn so much about the songs you didn’t realise before.”

Watch/listen below.

Transmission Suite “Lying Awake”

Transmission Suite are Ronnie Marshall (lyrics/drum machine/keyboards), Lewis Mcmillan (guitar), Alan Aitchison (bass guitar), and Andrew Rainey (keyboards/drum machine). Described as a mixture of 80’s electronic, 90’s baggy, and dream pop, this is the result of a melting pot of styles that creates an up-to-date version of electronic led music with guitars from decades past and takes it right into the present.   

Their sound has an electronic dreamy vibe akin to that of bands such as New Order and OMD, but with the anthemic/uplifting qualities of the likes of Echo & the Bunnymen and The Stone Roses.