Porij Announce Debut LP ‘Teething’, Share “My Only Love”

Porij Announce Debut LP 'Teething', Share "My Only Love"

Manchester indie dance/electronic band Porij have announced the release of their much-anticipated debut album, Teething

Porij also shared their new single “My Only Love” as well as its accompanying video

Co-produced by the band and the legendary David Wrench (Frank Ocean, The xx, Young Fathers), the 11-track record will be out on April 26 via Play It Again Sam Records. With warm-up slots for Metronomy, Coldplay, Wet Leg and Friendly Fires alongside their own crowd-igniting shows – Porij have been met with a landslide of attention at press and radio. The arrival of Teething invites you to take a leap beyond seeing dance music as a genre, built from this type of kick or that type of snare, and instead as its own dimension: a place you can escape to. Pre-order it here.

My Only Love” is about the safety and comfort of a settled relationship, for better or worse. Egg’s voice is tender, like a familiar hand stroking your cheek, while the beat plunges into a cosmos of dream-like denial: “I don’t know if this will be my forever love but it’s my only love for now.” It jolts against the boundaries of genre in a similar manner, as Porij describe it, to a DJ approaching a club set – fluid, playful and ever-changing. The accompanying video finds the band at their most tender and human – a striking development compared with their fun-filled visuals to date.

Speaking about it, Porij say:

“I went to see ‘Dancing at Lughnasa’ at the National Theatre and was completely struck by a moment in the closing monologue which has the line “Dancing with eyes half-closed because to open them would break the spell.” This felt so fitting to how I was immediately dealing with the conflict I was experiencing. The power of succumbing to denial felt particularly inviting. Over time the lyrics settled and this song anchors on the thoughts in the bridge saying ‘I don’t know if this will be my forever love but it’s my only love for now’. It’s easy to put pressure on a long term relationship but through this song I remembered to enjoy each moment and not take things too seriously.” 

Porij have endured the sharp pains of self-discovery. Every raw nerve, every bloody scrape and sprain, have been necessary for that unavoidable thing we must grit our teeth and bare: growing up. Vocalist and keyboardist Scout Moore (Egg), bassist James Middleton, guitarist Jacob Maguire and drummer Nathan Carroll are armed with hard-won experience, strengthened bonds and a renewed sense of passion. Their debut album Teething is both a coming-of-age story and a bottling of the particular magic that is unmistakably – and definitively – Porij.

Check out “My Only Love” below, followed by the album’s artwork and tracklist.

Teething Tracklist

  1. Marmite
  2. Unpredictable
  3. Don’t Talk To Me
  4. Endlessly Waiting
  5. My Only Love
  6. Ghost
  7. Stranger
  8. Sweet Risk
  9. Gutter Punch
  10. You Should Know Me
  11. Slow Down

The have also announced a string of UK and US dates, including Baby’s All Right, New York on March 11 and The Echo, Los Angeles on March 18 with SXSW in between.

U.S. Tour Dates

11 – Baby’s All Right, New York
12-16 – SXSW, Austin, TX
18 – The Echo, Los Angeles
19 – Rickshaw Stop, San Francisco
21 – Madame Lou’s, Seattle
22-23 – Treefort Festival, Boise, ID

Photo credit: Jesse Glazzard